- How CMCN Scheduling Actually Works
- Testing Windows and What Is (and Isn't) Published
- Eligibility Comes Before Any Date
- Fees, Proctoring Options, and Booking Mechanics
- What You Are Scheduling: The Exam Format
- Working Backward From a Target Date
- Retake Timing and Why Your First Date Matters
- After You Pass: The Three-Year Renewal Calendar
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The Certified Managed Care Nurse exam costs $250, plus $25 if you use ExamRoom.AI or forum proctoring.
- The exam is 200 multiple-choice questions in four hours, closed book, proctored, on paper or computer.
- You need a current nursing license plus AAMCN self-study completion or a board-approved managed-care résumé before sitting.
- After a second failed attempt, you must wait 12 months before retaking.
How CMCN Scheduling Actually Works
If you are searching for a tidy calendar of fixed national test dates for the Certified Managed Care Nurse (CMCN) credential, here is the honest starting point: the certifying body, the American Board of Managed Care Nursing (ABMCN), does not frame the exam around a published list of fixed seasonal testing windows the way some large computer-based certifications do. Instead, the exam is delivered through board-approved proctors or through remote proctoring via ExamRoom.AI, and the practical scheduling question becomes when can you line up an approved proctor or remote session, not which Saturday in April is the one sitting.
That distinction matters for how you plan. A fixed-window exam forces you to work backward from a hard deadline. A proctor-arranged exam gives you flexibility but shifts responsibility onto you to confirm availability, finish your eligibility paperwork early, and avoid assuming a date exists that has not been published. Throughout this article we will separate what the board has stated from what you will need to verify, so you do not build a study plan on a rumor.
Testing Windows and What Is (and Isn't) Published
Candidates often ask for a definitive list of 2026 testing windows. Based on the information the board makes available, here is what can and cannot be stated with confidence.
| Scheduling Question | What Is Known |
|---|---|
| Delivery method | Board-approved proctors, or remote proctoring through ExamRoom.AI |
| Test format | Paper or computer, closed book, proctored |
| Time allowed | Four hours |
| Question count | 200 multiple-choice questions |
| Exam fee | $250, with no published membership differential |
| Proctoring surcharge | $25 for ExamRoom.AI or forum proctoring |
| Fixed national test dates for 2026 | Not published as a universal calendar; confirm with the board |
| Exam-outline year | Not specified |
The practical takeaway: the "window" you are really managing is the span between finishing your preparation and securing a proctor or remote session. Because the board does not publish a rigid cycle, you have more control over timing than candidates for fixed-date exams, but you also carry more responsibility for initiating the process early.
Why the exam-outline year is a planning variable
The board has not specified an exam-outline year, which means you cannot assume a particular content blueprint is "locked" to 2026. This is worth keeping in mind when you choose study materials. The AAMCN home-study course released a fifth edition in October 2025, but that is a course edition, not an exam version. Studying from the newest edition is sensible because it reflects current course content, yet you should not interpret the edition number as proof of which questions will appear. For a deeper look at how the content areas are organized, see our complete guide to all four CMCN content areas.
Eligibility Comes Before Any Date
The single most common scheduling mistake is treating the exam date as the first step. For the Certified Managed Care Nurse credential, eligibility is the gate, and it can take longer than candidates expect because one of the two qualifying routes involves board review.
To sit for the exam you need a current U.S. jurisdiction nursing license (LPN/LVN, RN, or APRN) plus one of the following:
- Qualifying AAMCN self-study completion (the education route supplied by the American Association of Managed Care Nurses), or
- A board-approved managed-care résumé, reviewed and accepted by the certifying board.
The board does not publish a universal fixed number of experience years or training hours, which is exactly why the résumé route requires approval rather than a simple checkbox. If you intend to qualify through experience, build time into your calendar for that review before you try to book a proctor. If you intend to qualify through the AAMCN route, you need to finish the self-study before you are eligible, which sets a natural floor under how soon you can test. Our detailed breakdown in CMCN Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify walks through both pathways.
The AAMCN post-test is not the certification exam
One point that trips up candidates planning their calendar: the AAMCN course post-test is a separate assessment from the ABMCN certification exam. The course post-test is open book and untimed, while the certification exam is closed book, timed at four hours, and proctored. Passing the post-test is part of satisfying the education route, but it does not substitute for the proctored certification exam, and you should not schedule your certification attempt based on how comfortable the open-book post-test felt.
Fees, Proctoring Options, and Booking Mechanics
Scheduling and cost are intertwined for this credential because the proctoring choice changes your total. The base exam fee is $250, and the board does not publish a membership differential, so you should not plan on a discounted rate tied to joining an organization unless the board states one. If you use ExamRoom.AI remote proctoring or forum proctoring, add $25.
| Item | Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Certification exam | $250 | No published membership differential |
| ExamRoom.AI or forum proctoring | $25 | Added to the exam fee |
| Retake | $250 | Same as initial exam fee |
| Renewal (every three years) | $55 | $25 late fee applies |
For a full accounting of what the credential costs across the first sitting, possible retakes, and renewal, read CMCN Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Choosing between an in-person proctor and remote proctoring
The two delivery paths solve different problems. A board-approved proctor is the traditional route and may suit candidates who prefer a controlled, familiar setting or who want a paper format. ExamRoom.AI remote proctoring suits candidates who value scheduling convenience and would rather test from a qualifying private space. Whichever you choose, remember that the exam is closed book and proctored, so the environment requirements are strict. Ask the proctor or review the ExamRoom.AI instructions in advance about identification, workspace rules, and technical checks, because a failed system check on exam morning is an avoidable scheduling setback.
Key Takeaway
Finalize your eligibility documents first, then choose your proctoring path, then book. Reversing that order risks paying for a slot you cannot yet use.
What You Are Scheduling: The Exam Format
Knowing the format helps you pick a sensible time of day and prepare physically for the sitting. You will face 200 multiple-choice questions over four hours, which works out to roughly 72 seconds per question if you spend the entire window answering. The board does not publish how many of those questions are scored versus unscored, so plan to treat every item seriously. The passing score is 70%, and you can review how that threshold works in CMCN Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.
The board has not published whether a calculator is permitted or whether the test is adaptive, so do not assume either. Because the exam is closed book, you cannot bring reference material, and because it is delivered on paper or computer depending on arrangement, confirm which format your proctor offers.
The four exam sections
The exam is organized into four official sections. The board does not publicly disclose weights or identify the largest section, so avoid study plans that claim a precise percentage split.
Domain 1: Managed Care Overview
The foundational vocabulary and structure of managed care, including how plans, networks, and delivery models fit together.
- Core managed care concepts and terminology
- How care delivery and payment arrangements are structured
Domain 2: Healthcare Administration
The operational and organizational machinery behind managed care programs.
- Administrative processes that support care coordination
- How organizations run and oversee managed care functions
Domain 3: Healthcare Management
The nurse's role in managing cases, resources, and outcomes within a managed care setting.
- Care and case management responsibilities
- Resource use and quality considerations
Domain 4: Law & Ethics
The legal and ethical boundaries governing managed care practice.
- Regulatory and legal frameworks affecting managed care nursing
- Ethical decision-making and professional accountability
Because weights are unpublished, the safest preparation is balanced coverage across all four. If you want to see how a structured plan covers each area, our CMCN Study Guide 2026 maps preparation to these sections.
Working Backward From a Target Date
Once your eligibility is confirmed and you have a realistic proctor or remote session in mind, you can build a calendar backward. The domain order below is a suggestion tied to how the sections build on one another, not a board-mandated sequence.
Managed Care Overview
- Lock in terminology and structure first; later domains assume it
- Take a baseline practice set to see where you start
Healthcare Administration
- Study operational and organizational processes
- Connect administration to the overview concepts you just learned
Healthcare Management
- Apply concepts to nurse-centered management scenarios
- Practice scenario-style multiple-choice questions
Law & Ethics
- Review legal and ethical frameworks; these reward careful reading of question stems
Full-Length Simulation
- Sit a timed, closed-book run of 200 questions in four hours
- Rebuild weak areas, then book your session
Place Law & Ethics late so it stays fresh, and reserve the final week for a full simulation under real constraints. Practicing stamina matters: four hours of sustained concentration is its own skill. You can run realistic timed sets on the main practice test site, and if you are still weighing the difficulty of the sitting, How Hard Is the CMCN Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 gives useful context.
Retake Timing and Why Your First Date Matters
The retake policy gives your first attempt extra weight. A retake costs $250, the same as the initial exam. After a second failure, you must wait 12 months before attempting again. That means two unsuccessful sittings can push you out of the credential for a full year, which could affect a job application, a promotion timeline, or an employer-set deadline.
For scheduling, this argues for patience rather than speed. If your practice scores are hovering near the passing line, moving your session back by a few weeks costs far less than burning an attempt. Treat the first attempt as the one you intend to pass, and use a slightly later date to buy a safety margin. If you are weighing whether the credential justifies this investment of time and money, Is the CMCN Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 lays out the considerations.
After You Pass: The Three-Year Renewal Calendar
Scheduling does not end when you pass. The Certified Managed Care Nurse credential runs on a three-year renewal cycle, and missing it carries a cost. To renew you need 25 board-accepted continuing-education units or credits, a current license, and a $55 fee. A late fee of $25 applies if you miss the deadline.
The sensible move is to start accumulating board-accepted CE units early in the cycle rather than cramming in the final months. Because your license must also be current at renewal, align your license renewal timing with your certification renewal so neither lapses. Set a calendar reminder well ahead of the three-year mark, and confirm which activities the board accepts before you pay for any CE course. Career-side considerations, including where the credential is used, are covered in CMCN Jobs and the earnings discussion in CMCN Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis.
Frequently Asked Questions
The board does not present a universal published calendar of fixed national test dates. The exam is delivered through board-approved proctors or ExamRoom.AI remote proctoring, so confirm current availability and procedures directly at abmcn.org before planning around a specific date.
The exam fee is $250 with no published membership differential. If you use ExamRoom.AI or forum proctoring, add $25. A retake also costs $250.
You need a current U.S. jurisdiction nursing license (LPN/LVN, RN, or APRN) plus either qualifying AAMCN self-study completion or a board-approved managed-care résumé. No universal fixed experience or training-hour requirement is published.
It has 200 multiple-choice questions with a four-hour limit, closed book and proctored, delivered on paper or computer. The passing score is 70%.
You may retake for $250. After a second failure, a 12-month wait applies before you can attempt again, so it is wise to schedule your first sitting only when timed practice scores are reliably above the passing threshold.