- Why There Is No Published CMCN Pass Rate
- What the Certifying Body Does Tell Us
- Reading the 70% Passing Score Correctly
- Exam Format and the Pressure It Creates
- Who Sits for the Exam
- The Four Domains and Where Candidates Struggle
- Retake Rules and What They Imply
- A Domain-Based Plan for Improving Your Odds
- Frequently Asked Questions
- ABMCN does not publicly disclose an actual CMCN pass rate, so any specific percentage you see online is unverified.
- The passing score is 70% on a 200-question, four-hour, closed-book, proctored exam.
- A failed attempt costs $250 to retake, and a 12-month wait applies after a second failure.
- The four sections are Managed Care Overview, Healthcare Administration, Healthcare Management, and Law & Ethics.
Why There Is No Published CMCN Pass Rate
If you searched for the "CMCN pass rate" hoping for a clean percentage, here is the direct answer: the actual pass rate for the Certified Managed Care Nurse exam is not publicly disclosed. The American Board of Managed Care Nursing (ABMCN), which administers the certification, does not publish cohort pass/fail statistics on its exam pages.
That matters because a number of test-prep sites, forums, and social posts toss around confident-sounding figures for professional nursing certifications. For the Certified Managed Care Nurse credential, any specific pass-rate percentage you encounter should be treated as unverified unless it cites ABMCN directly. This article takes a different approach: instead of guessing, it walks through what the published facts actually tell you about how demanding the exam is and how to prepare for it.
What the Certifying Body Does Tell Us
Even without a published pass rate, ABMCN's official materials give candidates a surprisingly concrete picture of the exam. Here is what is documented:
| Exam Detail | What Is Published |
|---|---|
| Certifying body | ABMCN (American Board of Managed Care Nursing) |
| Education route | AAMCN supplies a self-study education route |
| Question format | 200 multiple-choice questions |
| Time limit | Four hours |
| Conditions | Closed book, proctored, paper or computer |
| Passing score | 70% |
| Exam fee | $250 (no published membership differential) |
| Proctoring add-on | $25 for ExamRoom.AI or forum proctoring |
| Retake fee | $250 |
| Actual pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
Notably, ABMCN does not publish how many of the 200 questions are scored versus unscored, nor does it publish the weighting of each content section. Candidates should plan as though every question could count and as though every section deserves meaningful preparation. For full cost context, see the CMCN certification cost breakdown.
Reading the 70% Passing Score Correctly
The published passing score is 70%. On a 200-question exam, that framing is easy to misread, so it is worth being careful.
- It is a score threshold, not a pass rate. The 70% figure tells you how well you must perform, not what share of candidates succeed.
- The scored/unscored split is unpublished. Because ABMCN does not state how many items are scored, you should not assume the threshold maps neatly onto a fixed count of correct answers out of 200.
- It is a fixed standard, not described as a curve. The published materials describe a passing score of 70% rather than a relative ranking against other test-takers.
For a deeper look at how scoring works, read CMCN Passing Score: Exactly What You Need to Pass. And if you want a candid read on the exam's overall difficulty, the CMCN difficulty guide covers that ground.
Key Takeaway
Stop searching for a pass-rate number and start planning against the number that is real: 70%. Take full-length practice under timed, closed-book conditions on the CMCN practice test site so you can see where you stand relative to that line.
Exam Format and the Pressure It Creates
Whether the pass rate is high or low, the format itself shapes how candidates experience the exam. Three features stand out.
Volume and endurance
Two hundred multiple-choice questions in four hours works out to roughly 72 seconds per question if you used the entire window with no review time. That is manageable for questions you know cold, but it leaves limited slack for items that require careful reading of a scenario. Pacing is a real skill here, not an afterthought.
Closed book and proctored
The exam is closed book. This is worth emphasizing because the AAMCN self-study course post-test is separately open book and untimed. Candidates who get comfortable with an open-book, untimed post-test can be surprised by how different the real exam feels. Do not treat strong post-test results as a direct proxy for exam readiness.
Delivery options
The exam may be taken on paper or computer, using board-approved proctors or ExamRoom.AI remote proctoring. The proctoring add-on, whether ExamRoom.AI or forum proctoring, is $25. Whatever route you choose, confirm logistics early, and check CMCN exam dates and scheduling for the latest on windows and deadlines.
Who Sits for the Exam
A pass rate is only meaningful in light of who is taking the test. The eligibility requirements shape the candidate pool considerably:
- A current U.S. jurisdiction nursing license (LPN/LVN, RN, or APRN).
- Either completion of the qualifying AAMCN self-study, or a board-approved managed-care résumé.
- No universal fixed experience or training-hour requirement is published.
This creates a mixed population. Some candidates arrive through the structured AAMCN self-study route; others qualify based on professional managed-care experience reviewed by the board. These groups likely prepare very differently, and because no cohort data is released, there is no way to say which group performs better. Full eligibility detail lives in CMCN Requirements: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
If you are still deciding whether the credential suits your career, CMCN jobs and the ROI analysis are useful companions.
The Four Domains and Where Candidates Struggle
The exam is organized into four official sections. ABMCN does not publish the weight of each section or identify the largest one, so the safest assumption is that all four demand real preparation. For a fuller breakdown, see the complete guide to all four CMCN content areas.
Domain 1: Managed Care Overview
The foundation: how managed care is structured and why it exists.
- Core managed care concepts and terminology
- How organizations and delivery models are structured
- The vocabulary that later domains build on
Domain 2: Healthcare Administration
The operational side of running managed care programs.
- Administrative processes and organizational functions
- How programs and services are organized and overseen
- Terminology that clinical-background candidates often have less exposure to
Domain 3: Healthcare Management
How care and resources are directed and coordinated.
- Management concepts applied to care delivery
- Coordination of services across settings
- Applying managerial reasoning to scenario-style questions
Domain 4: Law & Ethics
The legal and ethical framework surrounding managed care practice.
- Legal and regulatory concepts relevant to managed care nursing
- Ethical reasoning in care and coverage decisions
- Precise terminology, where small wording differences change the right answer
Why the "nurse-friendly" assumption can backfire
Candidates with strong bedside or case-management backgrounds often feel confident about clinical judgment but less certain about administrative and organizational content. Because the exam is built around managed care as a system, Domains 1 and 2 can feel unfamiliar to nurses whose daily work is clinical. That mismatch, rather than raw difficulty, is a plausible reason well-prepared clinicians still miss the 70% mark. It is an inference, not a published statistic, but it is a useful lens for deciding where to spend study time.
Retake Rules and What They Imply
Retake policy is one of the few places where the published facts directly shape strategy:
- A retake costs $250, the same as the initial exam fee.
- After a second failure, a 12-month wait applies before you can try again.
Put together, those rules mean a failed attempt carries both a financial and a calendar cost. A third attempt cannot happen quickly, so the practical incentive is to treat your first and second attempts as the ones that count. That is a stronger argument for thorough preparation than any pass-rate statistic could provide.
Renewal is a separate hurdle
Passing is not the end of the credential's requirements. Certification renews every three years with 25 board-accepted continuing-education units or credits, a current license, and a $55 renewal fee (a $25 late fee applies). It is worth knowing this upfront if you are budgeting for the long term.
A Domain-Based Plan for Improving Your Odds
Since the pass rate is unknowable, shift your attention to what you control. This sequencing is tied to the four domains and the closed-book format rather than to a generic study template. Adjust the pacing to your own timeline and background.
Build the vocabulary base (Domain 1)
- Work through Managed Care Overview first, since later domains assume its terminology.
- Create a glossary you can review without notes, because the exam is closed book.
Close the administrative gap (Domain 2)
- Spend extra time here if your background is clinical.
- Focus on how programs are organized and administered, not just how care is delivered.
Practice applied reasoning (Domain 3)
- Shift from memorizing to working scenario-style items on healthcare management.
- Review why wrong options are wrong.
Precision pass on Law & Ethics (Domain 4)
- Drill terminology where similar-sounding answer choices differ in meaning.
- Revisit any areas flagged as weak in earlier phases.
Simulate the real conditions
- Take full-length practice under closed-book, four-hour conditions.
- Practice pacing across 200 questions, then review by domain.
For a fuller walkthrough, see the CMCN study guide for passing on your first attempt, and keep the CMCN cheat sheet handy for last-minute review. Timed domain-by-domain practice is available on the main CMCN practice test site.
Frequently Asked Questions
The actual pass rate for the Certified Managed Care Nurse exam is not publicly disclosed by ABMCN. Be skeptical of any specific percentage that does not cite ABMCN directly. What is published is a 70% passing score on a 200-question exam.
The published passing score is 70%. The exam has 200 multiple-choice questions, and ABMCN does not publish how many are scored versus unscored, so aim to perform well across all four content sections.
You can retake it for $250. If you fail a second time, a 12-month wait applies before another attempt, which is why thorough preparation before your first and second tries matters.
No. The certification exam is closed book and proctored, offered on paper or computer, with a four-hour limit. The AAMCN course post-test is separately open book and untimed, so it is not a good stand-in for exam conditions.
Candidates need a current U.S. jurisdiction nursing license (LPN/LVN, RN, or APRN) plus either qualifying AAMCN self-study completion or a board-approved managed-care résumé. No universal fixed experience or training-hour requirement is published. See CMCN requirements for details.