CMCN logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CMCN Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts

TL;DR
  • The exam is 200 multiple-choice questions in four hours, closed book, proctored, with a 70% passing score.
  • The exam fee is $250, plus $25 if you test through ExamRoom.AI or forum proctoring.
  • Four official sections: Managed Care Overview, Healthcare Administration, Healthcare Management, and Law & Ethics.
  • Renewal is every three years: 25 board-accepted CE units, a current license, and a $55 fee.

The Credential at a Glance

The Certified Managed Care Nurse credential is awarded by the American Board of Managed Care Nursing (ABMCN). Its companion organization, the American Association of Managed Care Nurses (AAMCN), supplies an education route in the form of a home-study course. The two bodies are related but distinct: ABMCN certifies, AAMCN educates. Keeping that straight helps when you read eligibility language, because the application asks about AAMCN course completion or an ABMCN-approved résumé.

If you are brand new to the credential, start with the primer at What Is CMCN Certification? and then return here for the condensed facts. This page is meant to be the single sheet you print, annotate and keep beside your study materials.

Identity check: In this article, CMCN means Certified Managed Care Nurse, the ABMCN credential. Other credentials sometimes share the same four letters. If a fee, date or domain weight you find online does not match the facts below, confirm you are reading about the managed care nursing credential before you trust it.

Exam Format and Scoring Facts

Test structure

  • Question count: 200 multiple-choice questions.
  • Time limit: four hours total.
  • Book policy: closed book and proctored.
  • Delivery: paper or computer, depending on how you arrange your sitting.
  • Passing score: 70%.

Do the arithmetic on pacing before test day. Four hours across 200 questions works out to roughly 72 seconds per question if you used every minute with no review time. In practice you want to move faster on recall items so you can bank time for longer scenario-style stems. Our CMCN passing score breakdown explains what 70% means in practical terms.

What is not published

Be careful with claims you may see elsewhere. The following are not publicly disclosed, so treat any confident-sounding number as unverified:

  • How many of the 200 questions are scored versus unscored.
  • The weight of each of the four sections, and which section is largest.
  • The actual pass rate. For context on what can and cannot be known, see CMCN Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.
  • Whether a calculator is permitted or whether the exam is adaptive.
  • The specific exam-outline year.
Course edition is not exam version: The AAMCN course fifth edition, released October 2025, is a study resource edition. It is not an exam version and should not be read as a signal that the exam outline changed in a particular year.

Eligibility and Application Facts

To sit for the exam you need a current U.S. jurisdiction nursing license. LPN/LVN, RN and APRN licenses are all listed as qualifying license types. On top of the license, you must satisfy one of two routes:

  1. Education route: completion of the qualifying AAMCN self-study (home-study) program.
  2. Experience route: a managed-care résumé approved by the board.

No universal fixed number of experience years or training hours is published, which means the résumé route is evaluated by the board rather than by a published threshold. If you are unsure whether your background will be approved, ask the board before you pay for anything. The full eligibility discussion lives in CMCN Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.

Key Takeaway

The course and the exam are separate events. The AAMCN course post-test is open book and untimed, so passing it tells you very little about how you will do on a closed-book, four-hour, 200-question proctored exam. Plan your exam prep as its own project.

The Four Exam Sections Cheat Sheet

The exam is organized into four official sections. Weights are not publicly disclosed, so do not allocate study time based on a percentage someone quotes online. Instead, make sure you are competent in all four. For a deeper treatment, read CMCN Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 4 Content Areas.

Domain 1: Managed Care Overview

The foundation section. Expect questions that test whether you understand how managed care is structured and why it exists.

  • The purpose of managed care: balancing cost, quality and access.
  • Common plan and delivery models and how they differ for the member.
  • The roles of payers, providers, employers and members.
  • Basic terminology you will see throughout the rest of the exam.

Domain 2: Healthcare Administration

The operational side of managed care organizations and the processes that keep them running.

  • How organizations are structured and how work flows between departments.
  • Benefit design, authorization and claims-related concepts.
  • Quality and performance oversight at the organizational level.
  • Accreditation and the administrative frameworks nurses encounter in payer and provider settings.

Domain 3: Healthcare Management

The clinical-management layer where nursing judgment meets managed care tools.

  • Utilization management concepts and how decisions are reviewed.
  • Care coordination and case management principles.
  • Population-level thinking: identifying risk, managing chronic conditions, supporting transitions of care.
  • Applying managed care concepts to realistic patient and member situations.

Domain 4: Law & Ethics

The section where nurses with strong clinical backgrounds sometimes lose points because the thinking is regulatory rather than bedside.

  • Privacy and confidentiality obligations around member information.
  • Legal duties and liability considerations for nurses in managed care roles.
  • Ethical principles when cost containment and patient advocacy pull in different directions.
  • Documentation, consent and member-rights concepts.

The question style across all four sections is multiple choice. Expect a mix of straightforward knowledge items and applied stems that describe a managed care scenario and ask for the best answer. Because the exam is closed book, definitions and process sequences need to be in your head, not in a binder.

Fees, Proctoring and Registration

Proctoring options

You can test with a board-approved proctor or through ExamRoom.AI remote proctoring. Forum proctoring is also referenced as a route that carries the additional fee. Decide which option fits your situation early, because proctor availability can drive your timeline more than your study readiness does.

Cost structure

  • Exam fee: $250. No membership price differential is published.
  • Remote or forum proctoring add-on: $25 for ExamRoom.AI or forum proctoring.
  • Retake fee: $250.
  • Renewal fee: $55 every three years, with a $25 late fee.

Course costs for the AAMCN home-study route are separate and not listed in the facts above, so check the AAMCN home-study page directly if you are taking the education route. A full look at budgeting is in CMCN Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown, and scheduling mechanics are covered in CMCN Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.

Numbers to Memorize

This is the table to copy onto an index card.

ItemFact
Certifying bodyABMCN
Education route providerAAMCN (self-study program)
Questions200 multiple choice
Time4 hours
Passing score70%
Format rulesClosed book, proctored, paper or computer
Exam fee$250
Remote/forum proctoring add-on$25
Retake fee$250
Wait after second failure12 months
Renewal cycle3 years
Renewal CE requirement25 board-accepted units/credits
Renewal fee$55 ($25 late fee)
Eligible licensesLPN/LVN, RN, APRN (current, U.S. jurisdiction)

Retakes and Renewal Rules

If you do not pass

A retake costs $250. The important rule to remember is the waiting period: after a second failure, you must wait 12 months before attempting again. That makes your first two attempts disproportionately valuable, so do not treat the first sitting as a practice run. If you want a realistic read on difficulty before you commit, see How Hard Is the CMCN Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.

Keeping the credential

Renewal happens every three years and requires three things: 25 board-accepted continuing-education units or credits, a current nursing license, and the $55 renewal fee. Paying late adds $25. Because the board decides which CE counts, confirm acceptance before you pay for a course rather than after. The authoritative renewal page is on the ABMCN site under its renewing section.

Renewal habit: Spread your 25 units across the three years instead of collecting them in the final months. A calendar reminder at the two-year mark is cheaper than a $25 late fee and a scramble for accepted credits.

Where the Credential Gets Used

The credential is aimed at licensed nurses working in or moving toward managed care settings. Typical environments include health plans and payers, utilization review and case management teams, and provider organizations that coordinate with payers. Roles often involve reviewing care requests, coordinating services, managing member populations or supporting quality functions. The credential signals familiarity with the managed care framework rather than a particular clinical specialty.

No salary figures are published by the certifying body, so be skeptical of precise earnings claims. For a qualitative discussion of how the credential relates to pay and career movement, see CMCN Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis, CMCN Jobs and Is the CMCN Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026.

Sequencing Your Review Around the Four Sections

Because weights are unpublished, a balanced plan beats a clever one. The sequence below follows the logical dependency between sections: terminology first, operations second, clinical management third, law and ethics last as a consolidation layer.

Week 1

Managed Care Overview

  • Build a glossary of plan models, stakeholder roles and core terms.
  • Practice recall without notes, since the exam is closed book.
Week 2

Healthcare Administration

  • Map how authorizations, benefits and organizational functions connect.
  • Review quality and accreditation concepts.
Week 3

Healthcare Management

  • Work scenario questions on utilization review, case management and care coordination.
  • Practice choosing the best answer when several options look reasonable.
Week 4

Law & Ethics plus full review

  • Drill privacy, liability and ethical-conflict scenarios.
  • Take timed sets sized to the 200-question, four-hour format.

Adjust the weeks to your background. A nurse who already works in utilization review may compress Weeks 2 and 3 and spend longer on Law & Ethics; a bedside nurse may need the reverse. Use timed practice questions to find your weak section rather than guessing, and pair them with the fuller plan in CMCN Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.

Common Misreadings to Avoid

Treating the course post-test as a readiness signal

The post-test is open book and untimed. The exam is closed book and runs four hours. Passing one says little about the other.

Importing numbers from other credentials

Because the acronym is shared with other credentials, search results can mix fees, dates and pass rates from unrelated programs. Verify every figure against the ABMCN and AAMCN pages, and treat unpublished items (section weights, scored-question count, pass rate) as unknown rather than filling the gap with a guess.

Assuming the new course edition changed the exam

The fifth edition of the course, released October 2025, is a course edition. It does not by itself tell you the exam outline changed.

Underestimating Law & Ethics

Clinical experience does not automatically transfer to regulatory and ethical reasoning. Give that section deliberate review time even though its weight is unknown.

Forgetting the 12-month rule

Two failed attempts trigger a 12-month wait. Take the first attempt seriously, and use a diagnostic on the practice test site before you register. A quick confirmation of the basics is also available in What Does CMCN Stand For? if you are sharing this sheet with a colleague who is new to the credential.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many questions are on the CMCN exam and how long do I have?

The exam has 200 multiple-choice questions and a four-hour time limit. It is closed book and proctored, and can be taken on paper or computer. The split between scored and unscored questions is not published.

What score do I need to pass?

The passing score is 70%. The actual pass rate is not publicly disclosed, so any specific pass-rate percentage you see should be treated as unverified.

What does the exam cost?

The exam fee is $250, with no published membership differential. Using ExamRoom.AI or forum proctoring adds $25. A retake costs $250, and renewal every three years costs $55, with a $25 late fee.

Who is eligible to sit for the exam?

You need a current U.S. jurisdiction nursing license (LPN/LVN, RN or APRN) plus either completion of the qualifying AAMCN self-study or a board-approved managed-care résumé. No universal fixed experience or training-hour requirement is published.

What happens if I fail twice?

After a second failure you must wait 12 months before retaking the exam. Each retake costs $250, so it is worth preparing thoroughly before the first attempt.

How do I keep the certification active?

Renew every three years with 25 board-accepted continuing-education units or credits, a current nursing license and the $55 fee. Renewing late adds a $25 fee, so track your credits across the full cycle.

For a deeper walk-through of any single topic on this sheet, the companion article CMCN Certification and the full-length study guide expand on each section, and the practice test platform lets you rehearse the 200-question format under timed conditions.

Ready to pass your CMCN exam?

Put this into practice with free CMCN questions across every exam domain.