- The Credential in Plain Terms
- Who Runs the Credential: ABMCN and AAMCN
- Who Can Sit for the Exam
- Exam Format and Scoring
- The Four Exam Sections
- Fees, Proctoring and Registration
- Where the Credential Fits in a Nursing Career
- Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Four Sections
- Keeping the Credential Current
- Avoiding Common Mix-Ups
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CMCN stands for Certified Managed Care Nurse, a credential awarded through ABMCN for licensed nurses working in managed care.
- The exam has 200 multiple-choice questions, four hours, closed book, with a 70% passing score.
- The exam costs $250, plus $25 if you choose ExamRoom.AI or forum proctoring.
- Four sections: Managed Care Overview, Healthcare Administration, Healthcare Management, and Law & Ethics.
The Credential in Plain Terms
CMCN stands for Certified Managed Care Nurse. It is a professional certification for licensed nurses who work in, or want to work in, managed care: the part of healthcare delivery concerned with coordinating cost, quality, access, and utilization across health plans, provider networks, and care settings. Earning the credential signals that a nurse understands how managed care organizations operate, how care is administered and managed within them, and what legal and ethical obligations apply.
This guide covers what the certification is, who administers it, who is eligible, how the exam is built, what it costs, and how to approach preparation. If you are comparing it with other options, our overview of the CMCN certification and the explainer on what CMCN certification is approach the same topic from slightly different angles.
Who Runs the Credential: ABMCN and AAMCN
Two organizations matter to candidates, and it helps to keep their roles separate.
- ABMCN is the certifying board. It sets the eligibility rules, administers the exam, handles proctoring arrangements, and manages renewal. Official details live at abmcn.org, with exam specifics on its about-the-exam page.
- AAMCN supplies an education route. Its self-study (home-study) course is one of the ways a candidate can satisfy the preparation requirement for eligibility. The program is described at aamcn.org/home-study.
One detail worth noting: the AAMCN course has a fifth edition released in October 2025. That is a course edition, not an exam version. The course post-test is also a separate thing from the certification exam: the post-test is open book and untimed, while the certification exam is closed book, timed, and proctored. Do not assume that doing well on one predicts performance on the other.
Who Can Sit for the Exam
Eligibility has two pillars, and you need both.
- A current nursing license in a U.S. jurisdiction. The credential accepts LPN/LVN, RN, and APRN licenses.
- Qualifying preparation, satisfied in one of two ways: completion of the AAMCN self-study program, or a managed-care résumé that the board approves.
The published information does not set a universal fixed number of experience years or training hours. Instead, the board-approved résumé route is evaluated individually. That flexibility is useful for nurses who have spent years in utilization review, case management, or health plan roles but never took a formal course. It also means you should confirm your own situation directly with ABMCN rather than relying on a rule of thumb from a forum post. For a fuller walkthrough, see our guide to CMCN requirements and how to qualify.
Which Route Fits You?
Choose based on your background, not on convenience alone.
- AAMCN self-study route: a structured path if your experience is in bedside or non-managed-care settings and you want a systematic introduction to the field.
- Board-approved résumé route: a fit if your work history already demonstrates managed care responsibilities and you can document them clearly.
- Either way, an active license must be in place when you apply.
Exam Format and Scoring
The certification exam is a single, long sitting with a straightforward structure:
| Feature | Detail |
|---|---|
| Question count | 200 multiple-choice questions |
| Time allowed | Four hours |
| Reference materials | Closed book |
| Supervision | Proctored |
| Delivery | Paper or computer |
| Passing score | 70% |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Not published |
| Pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
Four hours for 200 questions works out to roughly 72 seconds per question on average, which is comfortable for recall items but tighter for scenario-based questions that require you to read a case, weigh competing priorities, and choose the best action. Because the board does not publish how many items are scored versus unscored, treat every question as if it counts.
Several things are not publicly stated: whether a calculator is permitted, and whether the exam uses adaptive testing. Do not plan around assumptions on either point; check the candidate materials when you register. For more on the score threshold itself, see what you need to pass, and for honest discussion of outcomes without invented numbers, read our piece on what the data on pass rates does and does not show.
The Four Exam Sections
The exam is organized into four official sections. The board does not publish percentage weights, and it is not stated which section is largest, so a sensible plan gives meaningful attention to all four rather than betting on one. Our complete guide to the four content areas goes deeper; here is the orientation.
Domain 1: Managed Care Overview
The foundation. Candidates should be able to explain what managed care is and how its basic models and structures differ from traditional fee-for-service arrangements.
- Common organizational and plan structures and how they relate to networks of providers
- How cost containment, access, and quality objectives interact (and sometimes pull against each other)
- The vocabulary of the field: terms you must recognize instantly in a question stem
Domain 2: Healthcare Administration
The operational side of how managed care organizations function day to day.
- Organizational operations, provider relationships, and plan administration
- Processes that connect clinical decisions to coverage and payment
- How administrative structures support (or constrain) care delivery
Domain 3: Healthcare Management
Where nursing judgment meets managed care practice: coordinating and overseeing care for populations and individuals.
- Care coordination and management concepts as applied in a managed care environment
- Evaluating quality and appropriateness of care alongside resource use
- The nurse's role in balancing member needs with plan processes
Domain 4: Law & Ethics
The section that tests whether you can recognize obligations and dilemmas, not just recite rules.
- Legal and regulatory responsibilities relevant to managed care nursing
- Ethical conflicts, such as tension between cost considerations and patient advocacy
- Professional accountability when plan policy and clinical judgment diverge
Fees, Proctoring and Registration
The money side is simple, and there are no surprise tiers to decode.
| Item | Amount |
|---|---|
| Exam fee | $250 (no published membership differential) |
| ExamRoom.AI or forum proctoring add-on | $25 |
| Retake fee | $250 |
| Renewal (every three years) | $55 (late fee $25) |
Proctoring options include board-approved proctors or ExamRoom.AI remote proctoring. If you choose ExamRoom.AI or forum proctoring, budget the extra $25. Because delivery can be paper or computer, ask about what is available for your chosen proctoring route when you schedule. The full breakdown, including how to think about the total outlay, is in our CMCN certification cost guide, and timing questions are covered in our exam dates and scheduling article.
Key Takeaway
If you fail twice, a 12-month waiting period applies before another attempt. Treat your first attempt seriously rather than as a trial run: a retake costs the same $250, and a second failure carries a year-long wait.
Where the Credential Fits in a Nursing Career
Managed care nursing roles cluster in organizations that sit between patients, providers, and payers. Typical employers and settings include:
- Health plans and insurers, where nurses perform utilization review, care management, and quality functions
- Case management and disease management programs, whether run by plans or outside vendors
- Provider organizations and networks that contract with plans and need staff who understand plan processes
- Third-party administrators and review organizations that evaluate appropriateness of care
For nurses coming from bedside roles, the credential can make a career pivot more legible to hiring managers: it shows that you have studied the system you are trying to join. For nurses already in managed care, it formalizes knowledge gained on the job. We do not quote salary or hiring figures here because the board does not publish them; our salary guide and overview of CMCN jobs discuss earnings and roles qualitatively, and the ROI analysis helps you weigh the credential against your own goals.
Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Four Sections
You do not need an elaborate method, but the order in which you tackle the sections matters, because the content builds on itself. One reasonable sequence follows.
Managed Care Overview
- Build the vocabulary and model comparisons that every later section assumes
- Write your own one-line definitions; if you cannot, you do not own the term yet
Healthcare Administration
- Trace how an administrative process moves from request to decision
- Connect each process to the organization responsible for it
Healthcare Management
- Work through scenario-style items: read the case, name the priority, then choose
- Practice distinguishing the best answer from merely acceptable ones
Law & Ethics, then full review
- Study obligations and dilemmas with specific scenarios, not just definitions
- Finish with a timed, closed-book run to rehearse the four-hour format
Adjust the length to your background. A nurse with years of utilization review experience may compress the early weeks and spend longer on Law & Ethics; a nurse new to managed care may do the opposite. Our full CMCN study guide expands on materials and pacing, the cheat sheet is a handy final-week review, and our difficulty guide helps you calibrate how much time to allow.
Because the real exam is closed book and the AAMCN post-test is open book, make sure at least part of your practice mimics real conditions. You can rehearse that format with questions on the main practice test site, which is useful for building stamina across a four-hour sitting.
Keeping the Credential Current
Certification is not permanent. The renewal cycle is three years, and the requirements are specific:
- 25 board-accepted continuing-education units or credits earned during the cycle
- A current nursing license
- A $55 renewal fee, with a $25 late fee if you miss the deadline
Plan your CE as you go rather than cramming in the final months. Since only board-accepted units count, confirm acceptability before you invest time and money in a course. The official renewal page is the authority on what qualifies.
Avoiding Common Mix-Ups
A few points cause the most confusion among candidates and curious readers:
- Acronym overlap. Other credentials share the letters CMCN. Facts such as fees, dates, and content outlines from another credential do not apply here. If you want to see how different phrasings of the question are answered, our pages on what CMCN stands for and the meaning of CMCN are useful starting points.
- Course versus exam. The AAMCN course edition number and its open-book post-test are not the exam version or format.
- Unknown details. Domain weights, pass rate, the scored/unscored split, calculator rules, and adaptivity are not publicly stated. Anyone quoting precise figures for these should be asked for a source.
- Training versus certification. Completing preparation, whether through coursework or an approved résumé, qualifies you to sit for the exam; it does not by itself confer the credential. See our overview of CMCN training for the distinction.
Frequently Asked Questions
CMCN stands for Certified Managed Care Nurse. It is a nursing certification awarded through ABMCN, and it is distinct from other credentials that happen to share the same acronym.
Not necessarily. You need a current nursing license plus either qualifying completion of the AAMCN self-study program or a managed-care résumé approved by the board. Check with ABMCN to confirm which route applies to you.
The exam has 200 multiple-choice questions over four hours, closed book and proctored, delivered on paper or computer. The passing score is 70%. The scored versus unscored split is not published.
The exam fee is $250, with no published membership differential. Choosing ExamRoom.AI or forum proctoring adds $25. A retake also costs $250, and a 12-month wait applies after a second failure.
Renew every three years with 25 board-accepted continuing-education units or credits, a current nursing license, and a $55 fee. A late fee of $25 applies if you renew after the deadline.